Shut down three, start a new one?

Published by Karsten Wickern on

One main argument used by proponents of Datteln 4 is that it would replace several old power plants. Datteln 4 would be a contribution to climateprotection and would reduce CO2 emissions, politicians say. But this simple calculation does not work out! Quite on the contrary: a plus of around 40 million tonnes of CO2 would be emitted during the years that Datteln 4 is operating, excluding the emissions from transport.

Uniper manages several power plants that have been in operation for many decades. The power plants Scholven B and C, as well as Wilhelmshaven, were commissioned between 1968 and 1976 and have been connected to the grid since then. The plan is to take these off stream at the end of 2022 to ensure that Datteln 4 is commissioned. Fewer emissions from old power plants for the same amount of electricity, is what they argue.

Overcompensation

However, it makes a significant difference whether you calculate in terms of the number of power plants - shut down three, start a new one - or in terms of power plant output, which is what actually counts for the environment. In this case, it would be "380 MW off, 1055 MW on."
Uniper's hard coal-fired power stations have been operating at low capacity for years: Of the 2,832 MW of installed capacity in Germany, only 592.51 MW were in use in 2019, i.e. 20.9%. In 2020 (as of May), it was only 17.02%. The downward trend, which was already visible in the years before 2019, is likely to continue in the upcoming years.

Although all the three power plants, which will be shut down by the end of 2022, have a huge capacity of 1477 MW, they are hardly used to full capacity: Scholven B with 38.2% or 131.79 MW, Scholven C with 56.5% or 194.93 MW and Wilhelmshaven with 7% or 52.99 MW. In total, this amounts to 379.71 MW and thus only about one third of the output of Datteln 4, which is 1055 MW.

Uniper goes one step further and proudly announces the shutdown of two more power plants with an additional 1385 MW in 2025, leaving Uniper with only Datteln 4 on the grid as a coal-fired power plant from 2025. But here, too, it is the same principle: Heyden was operating to low capacity at 8.7% or 76.13 MW in 2019 and Staudinger 5 at 26.8% or 136.68 MW. If electricity production were to remain constant until 2025, less is to be assumed, 592.51 MW of Datteln 4 would then be compensated.

Although other power plants will be shut down for Datteln 4, Datteln 4 will produce far more electricity and CO2 than necessary for compensation! Because of the cheap production and the long running purchase contracts it can be assumed that Datteln 4 will run at high load. A displacement of renewable energies will also lead to high CO2 emissions.

Uniper could shut down all the coal-fired power plants immediately

Now, one could go one step further and take a look at Uniper's gas-fired power plants. Uniper operates three gas-fired power plants with a total of six units. Last year, around 3300 MW of capacity was installed, of which 1.6% were utilised in 2018, 1.0% in 2019, and 0.9% in 2020 (as of May). Or, to put it another way: out of 365 days, they only ran at full load for about one long weekend.

Almost 3200 MW of unused capacity remains concerning gas-fired power plants. Uniper could therefore immediately take all its hard coal-fired power stations off the grid and compensate this using gas-fired power stations. The Schkopau lignite-fired power plant with an average of 329.85 MW could also be included in this calculation in 2019.


The data used for all calculations made was sourced from Uniper1)https://www.uniper.energy/de/stromerzeugung/laender/deutschland, the Federal Network Agency2)https://www.bundesnetzagentur.de/DE/Sachgebiete/ElektrizitaetundGas/Unternehmen_Institutionen/Versorgungssicherheit/Erzeugungskapazitaeten/Kraftwerksliste/kraftwerksliste-node.html and the Fraunhofer Institute3)https://www.energy-charts.de/percent_full_load_de.htm?source=coal&year=2019. Unless otherwise stated, the average figures refer to 2019.
The locations of the power plants and their possible local significance were not taken into account. Uniper could massively save CO2 emissions nonetheless.

Sources:   [ + ]

en_GBEnglish (UK)
de_DEDeutsch en_GBEnglish (UK)

Drei abschalten, eines anschalten?

Veröffentlicht von Karsten Wickern am

Ein Hauptargument der Befürworter*innen von Datteln 4 ist, dass es mehrere alte Kraftwerke ersetzen würde. Datteln 4 sei ein Beitrag zum Klimaschutz und würde die CO2-Emissionen senken, heißt es von Politiker*innen. Diese einfache Rechnung geht jedoch so nicht auf! Im Gegenteil würden in der Laufzeit rund 40 Millionen Tonnen CO2 mehr ausgestoßen -die Emissionen des Transports nicht mitgerechnet.

Tatsächlich betreibt Uniper einige Kraftwerke, die bereits seit vielen Jahrzehnten laufen. Die Kraftwerke Scholven B und C, sowie Wilhelmshaven wurden zwischen 1968 und 1976 in Betrieb genommen und sind seither am Netz. Dafür, dass Datteln 4 in Betrieb genommen wird, sollen diese Ende 2022 vom Netz genommen werden. Weniger Emissionen aus alten Kraftwerken für gleich viel Strom -heißt es.

Überkompensation

Jedoch macht es einen bedeutenden Unterschied, ob man in der Anzahl der Kraftwerke rechnet: “drei abschalten, ein neues anschalten” oder in der Kraftwerksleistung, die ja eigentlich zählt. So formuliert würde es lauten “380 MW abschalten, 1055 MW anschalten”
Die Steinkohlekraftwerke von Uniper sind nämlich schon seit Jahren kaum ausgelastet: Von 2.832 MW installierter Leistung in Deutschland waren 2019 nur 592,51 MW benutzt, das sind 20,9%. 2020 waren es (bis Stand Mai) nur 17,02%. Der Abwärtstrend, der auch schon in den Jahren vor 2019 sichtbar ist, dürfte die nächsten Jahre noch weiter gehen.

Die drei bis Ende 2022 abgeschalteten Kraftwerke haben zwar eine große Kapazität von 1477 MW, sind jedoch kaum noch ausgelastet: Scholven B zu 38,2%, bzw. 131,79 MW, Scholven C zu 56,5%, bzw. 194,93 MW und Wilhelmshaven zu 7%, bzw. 52,99 MW. Zusammengerechnet sind das 379,71 MW und damit nur rund ein Drittel der Leistung von Datteln 4 mit 1055 MW.

Uniper geht noch einen Schritt weiter und verkündet stolz die Abschaltung von zwei weiteren Kraftwerken mit noch einmal 1385 MW Kapazität für 2025. Damit hätte Uniper ab 2025 nur noch Datteln 4 als Steinkohlekraftwerk am Netz. Doch auch hier ist es das gleiche Prinzip: Heyden war 2019 bloß zu 8,7%, bzw. 76,13 MW und Staudinger 5 zu 26,8%, bzw. 136,68 MW ausgelastet. Bei bis 2025 gleichbleibender Stromproduktion, von weniger ist auszugehen, wären dann 592,51 MW von Datteln 4 kompensiert.

Zwar werden für Datteln 4 andere Kraftwerke abgeschaltet, jedoch wird Datteln 4 bei weitem mehr Strom und CO2 produzieren, als für die Kompensation nötig! Denn aufgrund der billigen Produktion und der lange laufenden Abnahmeverträge ist davon auszugehen, dass Datteln 4 unter hoher Last laufen wird. Auch wird eine Verdrängung der Erneuerbaren Energien zu hohen CO2-Emisionen führen .

Unipers Steinkohlekraftwerke abschaltbar

Nun könnte man noch einen Schritt weiter gehen und sich die Gaskraftwerke von Uniper anschauen. Uniper betreibt drei Gaskraftwerke mit insgesamt sechs Blöcken. Im vergangenen Jahr waren rund 3300 MW Kapazität installiert, die 2018 zu 1,6%, 2019 zu 1,0% und 2020 (Stand Mai) zu 0,9% ausgelastet waren. Oder anders ausgedrückt: von 365 Tagen liefen sie nur ca. ein verlängertes Wochenende lang auf Vollast.

Es bleiben knapp 3200 MW ungenutzte Kapazitäten in Gaskraftwerken über. Rechnerisch wäre es also möglich, dass Uniper sofort alle seine Steinkohlekraftwerke vom Netz nimmt und diese mit Gaskraftwerken kompensiert. Ebenso könnte auch noch das Braunkohlekraftwerk Schkopau mit durchschnittlich 329,85 MW in 2019 in diese Rechnung aufgenommen werden.


Quelle für sämtliche Rechnungen sind die Angaben von Uniper1)https://www.uniper.energy/de/stromerzeugung/laender/deutschland, der Bundesnetzagentur2)https://www.bundesnetzagentur.de/DE/Sachgebiete/ElektrizitaetundGas/Unternehmen_Institutionen/Versorgungssicherheit/Erzeugungskapazitaeten/Kraftwerksliste/kraftwerksliste-node.html und dem Fraunhofer Institut3)https://www.energy-charts.de/percent_full_load_de.htm?source=coal&year=2019. Wenn nicht anders angegeben, wird sich auf die durchschnittlichen Zahlen von 2019 bezogen.
Nicht berücksichtigt wurden hierbei die Standorte der Kraftwerke und ihre ggf. lokale Bedeutung. Dennoch könnte Uniper massivst CO2 einsparen.

Quellen   [ + ]

de_DEDeutsch
en_GBEnglish (UK) de_DEDeutsch